Best Monthly Bookkeeping Services for S-Corps (2026): The Buyer's Shortlist
By Timothy LeGendre, CPA · Florida License #AC62625 · Published 2026-06-09 · Last reviewed 2026-10-15
I compared 8 monthly bookkeeping services for S-Corps on who does the work, the 1120-S return, price, lock-in and terms. October 2026 pricing.
I compared eight monthly bookkeeping services that S-Corp owners shop, on five criteria: who does the work, whether the 1120-S return is included, price, data lock-in and contract terms. My own practice is my top pick for S-Corp owners who want a licensed CPA firm accountable for the monthly books and the return. Below is the full list of the best monthly bookkeeping services for S-Corps in 2026, with October 2026 pricing and who each option fits best.
Disclosure: I'm on this list and I compete with every service on it. So I hold my entry to the same five criteria, and every competitor figure links to the provider's own pricing page or terms, checked on October 15, 2026.
Key Takeaways
- •
Prices run from $99 to $995 a month. As of October 2026, the cheapest entry is Pilot Essentials at $99 (AI does the books) and the top published tier is Xendoo at $995. Most plans an S-Corp would actually buy sit between $249 and $469 a month before the tax return.
- •
Only three of the seven competitors include the 1120-S. Collective, Lettuce Pro and 1-800Accountant put the S-Corp return in the price. Pilot (from $2,000 a year), Xendoo (from $1,295) and Bookkeeper360 ($1,000) sell it separately, and QuickBooks Live does not prepare taxes at all.
- •
Three say in their own terms that they are not a CPA firm. Collective, Pilot and Bookkeeper360 each state it outright. That is fine for categorizing transactions, but reasonable salary, wages versus distributions and the Schedule L balance sheet are tax positions.
- •
Contract terms differ more than prices do. Collective's fees are prepaid and non-refundable. Bookkeeper360 auto-renews, needs 30 days' written notice and raises fees 5% after the first year, and 1-800Accountant bills annually. Lettuce, QuickBooks Live and my practice run month to month.
- •
Data export is a buying criterion now. Bench's shutdown in December 2024 left about 12,000 businesses without access to their books. Collective's terms make you "solely responsible for exporting" your data; my clients' ledgers export to standard CSV anytime.
What an S-Corp bookkeeping service actually is (and what it is not)
An S-Corp bookkeeping service records every transaction, reconciles the bank and card accounts, keeps the payroll records straight and closes the books each month. That part looks the same for any small business. What makes it an S-Corp service is five jobs a sole proprietor's books never have to do:
- •
Support reasonable compensation. Your W-2 salary has to hold up against what the IRS considers reasonable for your role. The books are the evidence.
- •
Keep wages and distributions apart. Wages carry payroll tax and distributions do not. If the ledger blurs them, the IRS decides which is which.
- •
Track shareholder basis. Whether a distribution is tax-free, and whether a loss is deductible, depends on a running basis figure.
- •
Produce a clean balance sheet. The 1120-S includes Schedule L, a balance sheet filed with the IRS. Unreconciled accounts land on the return.
- •
Separate distributions from shareholder loans. Money you take out is a distribution, a loan or wages, and each is taxed differently.
It is not the same thing as a tax preparer. Several services on this list never touch the 1120-S, so the return is a second purchase. It is not payroll software either, although most of these services run payroll through a partner. And it is not tax planning: the salary number itself is a separate decision, and how that number gets set has its own rules. If you are still deciding whether the election makes sense, start with my Florida S-Corp guide.
How I ranked these S-Corp bookkeeping services
I scored every service on the same five criteria, using only what the provider publishes about itself. The first two carry the most weight, because they decide whether the S-Corp judgment calls get made by someone qualified to defend them on the return.
- •
Who does the work. Whether a CPA, a bookkeeper or software does your books, in the provider's own words. On an S-Corp, the categorization decisions become tax positions.
- •
Whether the 1120-S is included. In the price, sold as an add-on, or not offered. A bookkeeping price without the return is not comparable to one with it.
- •
Price as of October 2026. The published entry price for a plan an S-Corp can use, from the provider's own pricing page, plus what a full year costs with the return.
- •
Lock-in and data. Whether your ledger lives on software you control and what the terms say about getting it out.
- •
Contract terms. Month-to-month, annual billing, prepaid and non-refundable, or auto-renewing with a notice window.
The best monthly bookkeeping services for S-Corps in 2026
These are the eight services S-Corp owners most often compare. Each entry gives the October 2026 price, who does the work, how the 1120-S is handled and the terms. Each ends with the kind of owner it fits best, and where it does not.
1. My practice (Timothy LeGendre CPA), best for S-Corps that want a CPA firm accountable for the books and the return
I'm a licensed Florida CPA (license #AC62625), and my practice holds a Florida CPA firm license (#AD72267). A licensed CPA reviews and signs off on every monthly close, and the 1120-S is prepared under the same roof, so nothing gets lost in a handoff between a bookkeeping vendor and a tax firm. The person accountable for how a shareholder distribution is booked in March is accountable for how it reads on Schedule L the following year.
Your books run on Forty Two Six, the platform I built in-house, so there is no QuickBooks subscription on top. Books close by the 15th of the following month. The engagement is month-to-month with 30 days' notice, your ledger exports to standard CSV anytime, and I work with S-Corp owners nationwide, remotely. I scope every engagement on a discovery call rather than publish a price.
The honest limit: I'm not the cheapest line on this page. My practice is built for businesses doing roughly $250,000 a year and up. A brand-new S-Corp with a few dozen transactions a month is usually better served by a bundle like Collective or Lettuce until the books get more complex. The bookkeeping services page covers what the monthly engagement includes.
Best suited for: S-Corps doing $250,000 or more, with payroll, contractors or several revenue streams, that want a licensed CPA firm accountable for the books all year and the return under the same roof. Owners who want the lowest monthly price should look at the bundles below.

See how your S-Corp's books would run here.
Tell me about your business and pick a time on my calendar. On the call I'll walk you through what the engagement would look like for your S-Corp.
Pick a time on my calendar. No obligation.
2. Collective, best for new solo S-Corps that want the lowest-cost bundle
Collective is built around the one-owner S-Corp, and I have a full Collective vs CPA comparison if it is the one you are weighing. As of October 2026 the S-Corp plan is $349 a month, or from $296 a month billed yearly (a 15% saving), and it includes bookkeeping, payroll and the 1120-S (Collective pricing page). The bookkeeping is "expert approved, powered by AI", and the S-Corp plan adds a dedicated account manager.
Read the terms before you sign. They state that Collective is not an accounting firm or a CPA, that business returns may be prepared by third-party providers it engages, and that subscription fees are paid in advance, non-refundable and auto-renewing, with cancellation due 30 days before the term ends. They also make you "solely responsible for exporting" your data (Collective terms of service). The personal return is an add-on on the S-Corp plan.
Best suited for: a one-owner S-Corp with simple, low-volume books that wants the most included for the lowest yearly price. Owners who want month-to-month freedom or a CPA firm on the books should look elsewhere.
3. Lettuce, best for owners who want automation and a bundled return month to month
Lettuce is the most automation-forward option here. As of October 2026 its Pro plan is $299 a month, or $249 a month billed yearly, and includes the S-Corp election, monthly payroll and "tax prep and filing for your business entity" (Lettuce pricing page). The personal return is an extra $500 a year. Lettuce says plans are billed monthly with no long-term contract, and Pro billing does not start until your business earns income.
The work is described as a "LettuceHead AI assistant" backed by the Lettuce support team. The pricing page does not say who prepares the return or what credential they hold, so ask before you rely on it for the S-Corp judgment calls above.
Best suited for: owners of a straightforward S-Corp who want software running the ledger, a bundled business return and the freedom to cancel any month. Owners who need to know which licensed professional signs the return should ask first.
4. Pilot, best for venture-backed or fast-scaling S-Corps
Pilot is built for startups. As of October 2026, Essentials is $99 a month and AI "categorizes transactions, reconciles accounts, and closes books monthly". Core adds a US-based bookkeeper and starts at $299 a month billed yearly ($399 billed monthly) for up to $15,000 of monthly expenses, rising with your spending (Pilot pricing page). The S-Corp tax return is an add-on from $2,000 a year, sold only with Pilot bookkeeping, and an owner's personal return is $1,000 per person.
Pilot states that it is not a public accounting firm. That is a fair description of a bookkeeping company, and it means the CPA-level calls on an S-Corp need an owner somewhere in the chain.
Best suited for: S-Corps on a venture track, or growing fast enough that pricing by expense volume makes sense. A small, steady S-Corp will usually pay less for the same year with a bundle.
5. Xendoo, best for owners who want a larger team with CPAs on the tax side
Xendoo prices bookkeeping in three tiers as of October 2026: $395, $695 and $995 a month, or $355, $625 and $895 billed yearly, sized by monthly expenses up to $50,000, $75,000 and $125,000 (Xendoo pricing page). The bookkeeping is weekly, by a US team, with no setup fee. Tax is a separate plan: the annual federal and state return starts at $1,295 a year, prepared by what Xendoo calls its CPA tax experts.
The entry tier costs more than Collective's whole bundle, so the math works when you want weekly books and a CPA-prepared return from one company.
Best suited for: owners who want an established team, weekly bookkeeping and CPAs on the return. Owners watching the yearly total closely will find cheaper bundles above.
6. 1-800Accountant, best for owners who want both returns from one national brand
1-800Accountant lists Starter at $299 a month and Business Complete at $469 a month as of October 2026, both billed annually, which is $3,588 and $5,628 a year (1-800Accountant pricing page). Both plans include the personal return and one business return, which can be an 1120-S. The work is done by a dedicated accountant and bookkeeper; the pricing page does not say whether they are CPAs.
The terms say fees are up to 90% refundable only within 30 days of purchase, plans auto-renew at the then-current rates, and cancellations are accepted in writing only (1-800Accountant terms). You are buying a year, so test the fit inside that first month.
Best suited for: owners who want the business and personal return inside one plan from a large brand, and are comfortable with annual billing. Owners who want to leave on 30 days' notice at any point should look elsewhere.
7. Bookkeeper360, best for S-Corps that already have a tax CPA
Bookkeeper360 starts at $399 a month for monthly bookkeeping, or $599 for a weekly cadence, as of October 2026, on QuickBooks Online or Xero (Bookkeeper360 pricing page). A separate Business Tax plan covering the 1120-S is $1,000 a year, and onboarding or cleanup projects start at $1,000.
Its subscription agreement says Bookkeeper360 is not a certified public accounting firm. It also says the service auto-renews, non-renewal needs written notice within 30 days of the term's end, monthly fees rise 5% after the first 12 months, and there is no refund if you leave. You keep ownership of your data, but it is not required to provide transition services (Bookkeeper360 subscription agreement).
Best suited for: S-Corps that already have a tax CPA they like and only want to hand off the bookkeeping. Owners who want one firm for both should price the tax plan in from the start.
8. QuickBooks Live, best for owners committed to QuickBooks who have a CPA for the return
QuickBooks Live, now sold as Intuit Expert Full-Service Bookkeeping, starts at $300 a month as of October 2026, after an initial cleanup fee that covers up to 20 months of past books and has no published price (QuickBooks Live pricing page). Intuit's page shows only the starting price. You sign up through a QuickBooks Online account, so budget for that subscription too, and see my QuickBooks Live cost breakdown for the full stack.
The work is done by QuickBooks-certified virtual bookkeepers, and Intuit says they cannot give tax advice specific to your business or prepare or file taxes for you. Your 1120-S needs its own preparer. Plans can be cancelled at any time.
Best suited for: owners already committed to QuickBooks who want help with transactions and already have a CPA for the return. Ranked last for S-Corps because the return is always a second purchase.
Side-by-side comparison
The same five criteria from the ranking, in one place: who each service fits, the October 2026 price, who does the work, how the 1120-S is handled, and the terms.
| Service | Best for | Monthly price (Oct 2026) | Who does the work | 1120-S return | Terms and data |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| My practice (Timothy LeGendre CPA) | S-Corps that want a CPA firm accountable for the books and the return | Scoped on a discovery call | Licensed Florida CPA firm; a CPA signs off on every close | Prepared in-house | Month-to-month, 30 days notice; CSV export anytime |
| Collective | New solo S-Corps that want the lowest-cost bundle | $349, or from $296 billed yearly | AI with expert review; not a CPA firm (own terms) | Included | Prepaid, non-refundable, auto-renews; you export your own data |
| Lettuce | Owners who want automation and a bundled return month to month | Pro $299, or $249 billed yearly | AI assistant plus support team; preparer not named | Included in Pro; personal return +$500/yr | Monthly, cancel anytime |
| Pilot | Venture-backed or fast-scaling S-Corps | Essentials $99; Core from $299 yearly ($399 monthly) | AI (Essentials); US-based bookkeeper (Core); not a public accounting firm | Add-on from $2,000/yr | Monthly or annual billing |
| Xendoo | Owners who want a larger team with CPAs on the tax side | $395 / $695 / $995 ($355 / $625 / $895 yearly) | US bookkeeping team; CPAs for tax | Add-on from $1,295/yr | Monthly or annual; no setup fee |
| 1-800Accountant | Owners who want both returns from one national brand | $299 or $469, billed annually | Dedicated accountant and bookkeeper; CPA status not stated | Included, plus the personal return | Annual billing, up to 90% refundable in 30 days |
| Bookkeeper360 | S-Corps that already have a tax CPA | From $399 ($599 weekly cadence) | Accounting team; not a CPA firm (own terms) | Separate plan, $1,000/yr | Auto-renews, 30 days written notice, +5% after year one |
| QuickBooks Live | Owners committed to QuickBooks with a CPA for the return | From $300, after a cleanup fee | QuickBooks-certified bookkeepers | Not offered; Intuit does not file it | Monthly, cancel anytime |
My practice (Timothy LeGendre CPA)
- Best for
- S-Corps that want a CPA firm accountable for the books and the return
- Monthly price
- Scoped on a discovery call
- Who does the work
- Licensed Florida CPA firm; a CPA signs off on every close
- 1120-S return
- Prepared in-house
- Terms and data
- Month-to-month, 30 days notice; CSV export anytime
Collective
- Best for
- New solo S-Corps that want the lowest-cost bundle
- Monthly price
- $349, or from $296 billed yearly
- Who does the work
- AI with expert review; not a CPA firm (own terms)
- 1120-S return
- Included
- Terms and data
- Prepaid, non-refundable, auto-renews; you export your own data
Lettuce
- Best for
- Owners who want automation and a bundled return month to month
- Monthly price
- Pro $299, or $249 billed yearly
- Who does the work
- AI assistant plus support team; preparer not named
- 1120-S return
- Included in Pro; personal return +$500/yr
- Terms and data
- Monthly, cancel anytime
Pilot
- Best for
- Venture-backed or fast-scaling S-Corps
- Monthly price
- Essentials $99; Core from $299 yearly ($399 monthly)
- Who does the work
- AI (Essentials); US-based bookkeeper (Core); not a public accounting firm
- 1120-S return
- Add-on from $2,000/yr
- Terms and data
- Monthly or annual billing
Xendoo
- Best for
- Owners who want a larger team with CPAs on the tax side
- Monthly price
- $395 / $695 / $995 ($355 / $625 / $895 yearly)
- Who does the work
- US bookkeeping team; CPAs for tax
- 1120-S return
- Add-on from $1,295/yr
- Terms and data
- Monthly or annual; no setup fee
1-800Accountant
- Best for
- Owners who want both returns from one national brand
- Monthly price
- $299 or $469, billed annually
- Who does the work
- Dedicated accountant and bookkeeper; CPA status not stated
- 1120-S return
- Included, plus the personal return
- Terms and data
- Annual billing, up to 90% refundable in 30 days
Bookkeeper360
- Best for
- S-Corps that already have a tax CPA
- Monthly price
- From $399 ($599 weekly cadence)
- Who does the work
- Accounting team; not a CPA firm (own terms)
- 1120-S return
- Separate plan, $1,000/yr
- Terms and data
- Auto-renews, 30 days written notice, +5% after year one
QuickBooks Live
- Best for
- Owners committed to QuickBooks with a CPA for the return
- Monthly price
- From $300, after a cleanup fee
- Who does the work
- QuickBooks-certified bookkeepers
- 1120-S return
- Not offered; Intuit does not file it
- Terms and data
- Monthly, cancel anytime
Prices and terms checked October 15, 2026 against each provider's own pricing page or terms, linked in its entry above. Providers change pricing without notice, so confirm before you sign.
Which S-Corp bookkeeping service fits your situation
Most owners can narrow the list in one step. Find the row that describes your S-Corp today.
| If your S-Corp is... | Look for | Best fit |
|---|---|---|
| Brand new, one owner, simple books | The 1120-S in the price and the lowest all-in year | Collective or Lettuce Pro |
| Venture-backed or scaling fast | A team that prices by expense volume and knows startup reporting | Pilot |
| Already working with a tax CPA you trust | Bookkeeping only, with a clean year-end handoff | Bookkeeper360 or QuickBooks Live |
| Wanting a large team with CPAs on the tax side | Weekly bookkeeping plus a CPA-prepared return add-on | Xendoo |
| Wanting the business and personal return from one brand | Both returns inside one annual plan | 1-800Accountant |
| Doing $250,000 or more, with payroll, contractors or several revenue streams | A licensed CPA firm accountable for the books all year and the return under the same roof | My practice |
What a year actually costs, including the 1120-S
Monthly prices are not comparable when some include the return and some do not. These are year-one totals for an S-Corp at each service's entry tier, built from the October 2026 figures above, with the business return added wherever it is sold separately.
| Service | Year one, with the 1120-S |
|---|---|
| Lettuce Pro (yearly billing) | $2,988, business return included; personal return +$500 |
| Pilot Essentials + S-Corp tax | $3,188 and up ($1,188 + tax from $2,000) |
| Collective (yearly billing) | $3,552, payroll and 1120-S included ($4,188 on monthly billing) |
| 1-800Accountant | $3,588 (Starter) to $5,628 (Business Complete), business and personal returns included |
| Xendoo Essential (yearly) + tax | $5,555 and up ($4,260 + tax from $1,295) |
| Pilot Core (yearly, entry tier) + S-Corp tax | $5,588 and up ($3,588 + tax from $2,000) |
| Bookkeeper360 + Business Tax plan | $5,788 and up ($4,788 + $1,000), plus onboarding or cleanup from $1,000 if needed |
| QuickBooks Live | $3,600 and up for bookkeeping alone, plus the cleanup fee, your QuickBooks Online subscription and a 1120-S bought elsewhere |
| My practice | Scoped on a discovery call: a full year of books plus the 1120-S under one roof |
Two things the totals do not show. First, contract terms: a prepaid, non-refundable year and a month-to-month engagement at the same price are different commitments. Second, portability. In December 2024, Bench, then the biggest name in online bookkeeping, shut down abruptly, and reporting later showed it had racked up over $65 million in debt. Before you sign with anyone, get the export answer in writing. For what CPA services cost more broadly, see how much a CPA costs.
One caution for every provider here, including me: pricing pages change without notice. Every figure was checked on October 15, 2026 against the linked source. Check it again before you sign.
S-Corp bookkeeping service vs a CPA: what is the difference?
A bookkeeping service records and reconciles. A CPA is licensed to give tax advice, prepare and sign the return, and stand behind the positions in it. On an S-Corp the line between the two is thin, because the bookkeeping decisions (salary versus distribution, loan versus draw) are the tax positions.
That is why the question to ask any provider is who makes those calls, and whether that person is the one who answers for them on the 1120-S. My guides on CPA vs bookkeeper and how to choose an accountant go deeper. If your books are already behind, start with catch-up bookkeeping.
Get a CPA's read on your S-Corp's books
The fastest way to compare me to this list is with your own numbers. Tell me what your S-Corp does, how you pay yourself and where the books stand today. I'll tell you what the monthly engagement would cover and how the 1120-S fits in. If one of the services above is the better fit for where you are, I'll say so. To get started, book a discovery call.
More reading
Want to keep going?
Florida S-Corp Election: Complete Guide for Small Business Owners
When to elect S-Corp status for your Florida LLC, how much you can save, reasonable compensation rules, and the step-by-step filing process.Collective vs. a Real CPA: S-Corp Cost Comparison
Collective's S-Corp plan costs about $3,552 a year billed yearly. What the lower price buys you, what it doesn't, and how to decide.CPA vs. Bookkeeper: What Florida Small Businesses Actually Need
The difference between a CPA and a bookkeeper, what each can and can't do, what they cost, and when you need both. From a Florida CPA who does both.Frequently asked questions
- What is the best bookkeeping service for an S-Corp?
- It depends on what you need covered. For a new one-owner S-Corp with simple books, a bundle that includes the 1120-S, such as Collective (from $296 a month billed yearly) or Lettuce Pro ($249 to $299 a month), is the lowest-cost credible option as of October 2026. For an S-Corp doing $250,000 or more with payroll or contractors, my pick is a licensed CPA firm accountable for both the monthly books and the return, which is how my practice works.
- How much does S-Corp bookkeeping cost in 2026?
- As of October 2026, published prices run from $99 a month (Pilot Essentials, where AI does the books) to $995 a month (Xendoo's top tier), and most plans an S-Corp would buy cost $249 to $469 a month. With the 1120-S included, a first year at the entry tiers runs from about $2,988 (Lettuce Pro billed yearly) to $5,788 (Bookkeeper360 plus its Business Tax plan). Always compare the full year with the return, not the monthly sticker price.
- Is the S-Corp tax return included with online bookkeeping services?
- Only sometimes. As of October 2026, Collective, Lettuce Pro and 1-800Accountant include the 1120-S, while Pilot (from $2,000 a year), Xendoo (from $1,295) and Bookkeeper360 ($1,000) sell it separately. QuickBooks Live does not prepare or file taxes, so you need a separate preparer.
- What is the difference between a bookkeeping service and a CPA for an S-Corp?
- A bookkeeping service records and reconciles transactions; a CPA is licensed to give tax advice and to prepare and sign the return. On an S-Corp the two overlap, because booking salary versus distributions or loans versus draws are tax positions that end up on the 1120-S. Collective, Pilot and Bookkeeper360 each state in their own terms that they are not a CPA or public accounting firm.
- How do I choose a bookkeeping service for my S-Corp?
- Ask five questions: who actually does the work, whether the 1120-S is included, what a full year costs with the return, how you get your ledger out if you leave, and what the contract terms are. Get the export and cancellation answers in writing before you sign. The first two answers usually narrow the list fastest.
- Why do S-Corps need cleaner books than sole proprietors?
- The 1120-S includes a balance sheet (Schedule L), so unreconciled accounts show up on the return itself. Owner pay splits into W-2 wages and distributions, a split the IRS scrutinizes, and shareholder basis decides whether distributions are tax-free and losses deductible. All of it depends on books that are right every month, not patched at tax time.
- How long does it take to switch S-Corp bookkeeping services?
- If your books are current and you can export a full general ledger, a switch usually lands at the next month-end close. If the books are behind, expect a catch-up project first: Bookkeeper360 prices onboarding and cleanup from $1,000, and QuickBooks Live charges an initial cleanup fee covering up to 20 months. Check the old provider's notice period before you cancel.
- What happened to Bench, and why does it matter when choosing a bookkeeping service?
- Bench, once the largest online bookkeeping startup, shut down abruptly in December 2024, leaving roughly 12,000 businesses scrambling for their records weeks before tax season; reporting later showed it had over $65 million in debt. The lesson is data portability: ask in writing how you get your general ledger out, and in what format, before you sign. My clients' ledgers export to standard CSV anytime.